Boone, NC Weather
60.0°
Mostly Cloudy
7-Day Forecast

Relax for a good cause



Article Published: Apr. 26, 2010 | Modified: Sep. 7, 2011
Relax for a good cause

Massage therapist Lauri Whyte treats Andrea Morgan to a relaxing time.

Photo submitted



Sit back, relax, and help your neighbors at the same time.

May is officially "Massage for Hunger" month.

"With the recession ... people need a massage more than ever and will feel less guilty if their money is going toward helping someone," event coordinator Eileen Laird said.

Area massage therapist volunteers will be providing chair massages to community members at Bare Essentials Natural Market on Boone Heights Drive.

Proceeds for the event go directly to the Hunger and Health Coalition, a United Way agency, hit particularly hard lately, both by the economic crisis and record setting winter.

"Massages are $1 per minute," she said, and last anywhere from five to 30 minutes.
Not only will you be assisting your neighbors, but you'll also be giving valuable practice experience to masseuses in training.

"It gives them a chance to get out into the community and get some experience and, at the same time, it promotes the massage program locally that not everyone knows about," Laird said.

The massage therapist volunteers are a blend of professional body workers and students from Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute's massage therapy program. Professional massage therapists are also donating a portion of their May proceeds to the cause. Those therapists include Sharon Parton, Tim Winecoff, Kirsten Tiedemann, Lauri Whyte and Eileen Laird.

And, if you're a professional masseuse, you're encouraged to contribute by calling Laird at 828-266-9379.

For more information on the Hunger and Health Coalition, visit http://www.hungercoalition.com.

Saturday, May 1: Noon-2 p.m.
Sunday, May 2: 4-6 p.m.
Monday, May 3: 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
Tuesday, May 4: 11 a.m.-7 p.m.
Wednesday, May 5: 9 a.m.-2 p.m.
Thursday, May 6: 10 a.m.-11 a.m. & noon-4 p.m.
Friday, May 7: 9 a.m.-1:30 p.m. & 4:30-6:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 8: 11 a.m.-1 p.m. & 4-6 p.m.
Sunday, May 9: Noon-2 p.m.
Monday, May 10: 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
Tuesday, May 11: 11 a.m.-3 p.m.
Wednesday, May 12: 9-11 a.m. & noon-3 p.m.
Thursday, May 13: 9 a.m.-7 p.m.
Friday, May 14: 10 a.m.-noon
Saturday, May 15: 4-6 p.m.
Sunday, May 16: 4-6 p.m.
Monday May 17: 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
Tuesday, May 18: 11 a.m.-4 p.m.
Wednesday, May 19: 9-11 a.m. & 1-3 p.m.
Thursday, May 20: 9 a.m.-7 p.m.
Friday, May 21: 9-10 a.m.
Saturday, May 22: noon-2 p.m.
Monday, May 24: 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Tuesday, May 25: 11 a.m.-3 p.m.
Wednesday, May 26: noon-2 p.m.
Thursday, May 27: 3-5 p.m.
Friday, May 28: noon-2 p.m.
Sunday, May 30: 4-6 p.m.
Monday, May 31: 9 a.m.-noon & 2-3 p.m.

Facebook Fans
Home » Watauga News » Relax for a good cause
Local Business Marketplace

Find more businesses on HighCountryMarketplace.com

Attorneys · Automotive · Health Care
Home & Garden · Hotels & Lodging Restaurants
Retail · Recreation · Real Estate & Rentals · Services

Banner Elk My Hometown
Boone My Hometown


From Our Advertisors

  1. Bairstow Eves. Lincoln
ASU Sports