Boone, NC Weather
Mostly Cloudy
7-Day Forecast

Pioneer football coach resigns

Story Submitted (

Article Published: Jun. 7, 2012 | Modified: Jun. 7, 2012
Pioneer football coach resigns

Tim Pruitt

Photo by Rob Moore

Watauga High School’s head football coach, Tim Pruitt, has announced that he will resign his coaching position effective June 12.

Pruitt said his departure was based on the decision to move to closer to his wife’s family.

He said that he continues to hope for “great success for the football team and all of the students, faculty and other personnel at Watauga High School.”

Pruitt’s Pioneers made it to the second round of the state playoffs in the 2011 season as the team compiled a record of seven wins and six losses, including a 4-2 record in conference games.
His overall record for his four seasons at Watauga was 21-27.

Pruitt has a total of 19 years of service as a coach and teacher and worked at three other North Carolina high schools before coming to Watauga High School.

Marshall Gasperson, principal at Watauga High School, said he intends to move swiftly to fill the vacated position.

“In coaching, just as in our classrooms, we seek educators who contribute to student growth and success,” Gasperson said. “It will be our goal to find a coach who helps our young people build a winning team on the field, achieve excellence in the classroom, and demonstrate strong character in all aspects of their lives.”

Watauga High School has an enrollment of approximately 1,450 students. It is rated a North Carolina School of Distinction by the N.C. Department of Public Instruction based on the academic proficiency and growth of its students and additional indicators of student success.

Facebook Fans
Home » Watauga News » Pioneer football coach resigns
Local Business Marketplace

Find more businesses on

Attorneys · Automotive · Health Care
Home & Garden · Hotels & Lodging Restaurants
Retail · Recreation · Real Estate & Rentals · Services

Banner Elk My Hometown
Boone My Hometown

From Our Advertisors

  1. Bairstow Eves. Lincoln
ASU Sports