Boone, NC Weather
Mostly Cloudy
7-Day Forecast

Election 2013

From Staff Reports (

Article Published: Nov. 7, 2013 | Modified: Nov. 7, 2013
Election 2013

From left, re-elected Boone Town Council member Rennie Brantz talks with fellow council member and mayor-elect Andy Ball on Election Day.

Photo by Anna Oakes


Boone Town Council member Andy Ball was elected Tuesday to a four-year term as mayor of Boone, sweeping a race that included four candidates.

In unofficial results, Ball, a Democrat, garnered a total of 1,066 votes, followed by independent John Mena at 502, Republican Brad Harmon at 150 and write-in independent Jenny Church at 113.

Ball’s election as mayor will leave a vacancy on the Boone Town Council, as he has two years remaining in his second term as a council member. The council will appoint someone to finish Ball’s term once the new council members are sworn in on Dec. 17.

Democratic Party-supported candidates also swept the race for three open seats on Boone Town Council, with Rennie Brantz, Jennifer Peña and Quint David receiving the most votes at 1,127; 1,126; and 1,028, respectively, in unofficial results.

As results currently stand, Brantz and Peña would receive four-year terms on the council, while David, as the third-place finisher, would receive a two-year term.

Brantz and Pena are registered Democrats, and David is registered unaffiliated but was endorsed in Democratic Party materials.

Following were Republican Mark Templeton with 699, Republican Matthew Long with 672 and independent James Milner with 552, according to the unofficial results.

A total of 2,770 ballots were cast in the county’s four municipal elections, with 1,154 voting during the early voting period. In addition, 117 provisional ballots were cast — 108 at Boone 2 (Legends), three at the transfer station, two at Boone 3, two at New River 2 and two in Beech Mountain. As of Tuesday, 108 absentee ballots that were mailed had not yet been returned, elections officials said. Mail-in absentee ballots were required to be postmarked by Monday.

The Watauga County Board of Elections will hold a canvass next Tuesday, Nov. 12, at 11 a.m., and any provisional ballots that are verified as valid will be added to the vote totals. While the distribution of provisional and mail-in ballots would not change the overall outcome of the Boone Town Council race, it could potentially impact the term lengths the winning candidates receive.


Incumbent mayor J.B. Lawrence held onto the office in a landslide, defeating challenger Dan Phillips by nearly a three-to-one margin, with an unofficial vote tally of 452 to 160.

Lawrence will serve a new two-year term beginning in December.

In the race for three open Blowing Rock Board of Commissioners seats, unofficial results have one incumbent, Doug Matheson, retaining his seat, while two newcomers, Sue Sweeting and Ray Pickett, will join Matheson on the board.

The three candidates who failed to get enough votes for a seat on the board included incumbent Tommy Klutz and newcomers Laurin Carter and David Barker.

The unofficial vote totals for the town council race were 425 for Doug Matheson, 410 for Sweeting, 279 for Pickett, 222 for Klutz, 180 for Carter and 145 for Barker.

With the results, Matheson, Sweeting and Pickett earn four-year terms.


In Beech Mountain, incumbents won the most support from voters: Cindy Keller, Rick Miller and Paul Piquet.

Miller earned the most votes at 159, followed immediately by Piquet at 158. Keller was not far behind, earning 147 votes, according to unofficial totals. Miller and Piquet will likely be awarded four-year terms, while Keller will serve another two years.

Candidates Eddie Plante and Barry Schorr secured 71 and 61 votes, respectively. Four write-in votes were cast.

The mayor and vice mayor will be selected from within the council later in the year.


In Seven Devils, the uncontested race was extremely close: only two votes separated the highest and lowest vote-earners.

Incumbents David Hooper and Kay Ehlinger won four-year terms with 30 and 29 votes, respectively, according to unofficial results. Incumbent David Ehmig was right on their heels with 28 votes, earning another two-year term.

Twelve write-in votes were cast.

A mayor and mayor pro tem will be selected from within the council at a later date.

Additional Images

From left, re-elected Boone Town Council member Rennie Brantz talks with fellow council member and mayor-elect Andy Ball on Election Day.
Photo by Anna Oakes

Candidates and supporters gather along Main Street in Blowing Rock on Election Day.
Photo by Jeff Eason

Facebook Fans
Home » Watauga News » Election 2013
Local Business Marketplace

Find more businesses on

Attorneys · Automotive · Health Care
Home & Garden · Hotels & Lodging Restaurants
Retail · Recreation · Real Estate & Rentals · Services

Banner Elk My Hometown
Boone My Hometown

From Our Advertisors

  1. Bairstow Eves. Lincoln
ASU Sports