Boone, NC Weather
Heavy Drizzle
7-Day Forecast

ASU business faculty honored for excellence

Article Published: Jul. 28, 2011 | Modified: Sep. 7, 2011
ASU business faculty honored for excellence

Four Appalachian State University faculty members in the Walker College of Business have received the college's 2011 Award for Excellence.

Dr. Scott Hunsinger received the award for teaching. Dr. Mike McKee was honored for his research contributions. The award for excellence in service was presented to Dr. Stella Anderson. Kevin Eller was honored as the outstanding non-tenure track faculty member.

Winners receive a monetary prize and a bronze medallion of the university seal. The awards are made possible by a contribution from G.A. Sywassink, CEO of Standard Holding Company, and chairman of Appalachian's Board of Trustees.

Hunsinger is an associate professor in the Department of Computer Information Systems and teaches courses in information technology infrastructure, networking and emerging technologies.

He also is co-director of the Center for Applied Research in Emerging Technologies in the college of business and a faculty advisor of Alpha Iota Mu and the Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) at Appalachian.

In 2010, he was honored as national AITP Advisor of the Year. In 2011, the AITP chapter was selected as the national chapter of the year. Hunsinger received a master's of business administration degree and a Ph.D. in information technology from UNC Charlotte.

Research award recipient McKee is a professor in the Department of Economics and co-director of the college's Experimental Economics Center for Economic Research & Policy Analysis.

McKee's research focuses on environmental policy and experimental economics. He has published more than 75 journal articles and 13 book chapters. His research at Appalachian has earned funding from five grants totaling $400,000.

McKee has served as a member of the editorial review board for the Journal of Environmental Economics and Management and Resource and Energy Economics. He was an editor of Economic Inquiry and currently serves on the editorial review board for Public Finance Review.

He holds M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in economics from Carleton University in Ottowa, Canada.

Anderson, a professor in the Department of Management, was recognized for her service.

Anderson joined the business faculty in 1992 and served as acting chairperson and chairperson of the Department of Management from 2003-09. She is a member of the Faculty Senate at Appalachian and has served on various committees and task forces throughout her tenure.

Anderson is a member of the Academy of Management and the Southern Management Association. She earned a Ph.D. degree in organizational behavior and human resource management from Purdue University.

The recipient of the non-tenure track faculty award, Eller was a lecturer in the Department of Accounting from 2007 until 2011.

Eller is a Certified Public Accountant and a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the N.C. Association of Certified Public Accountants.

He received his bachelor's degree in accounting from Appalachian in 2004 and his master of accountancy from Appalachian in 2005. Eller will enter the Ph.D. program in accounting at Virginia Commonwealth University this fall.

Facebook Fans
Home » Watauga News » ASU business faculty honored for excellence
Local Business Marketplace

Find more businesses on

Attorneys · Automotive · Health Care
Home & Garden · Hotels & Lodging Restaurants
Retail · Recreation · Real Estate & Rentals · Services

Banner Elk My Hometown
Boone My Hometown

From Our Advertisors

  1. Bairstow Eves. Lincoln
ASU Sports