Boone, NC Weather
Fair and Breezy
7-Day Forecast

ASU Cycling Team rides to victory

Article Published: Apr. 28, 2011 | Modified: Sep. 7, 2011
ASU Cycling Team rides to victory

The ASU Cycling Team was named Atlantic Coast Conference Cycling Division I champions.n

Photo submitted

Appalachian State University's Cycling Team was named Atlantic Coast Conference Cycling (ACCC) Division I champions after a successful Division I Road Championship race in Blacksburg, Va., April 16-17.

In addition to the team competition, Appalachian had individual overall winners, as well: Clayton Omer in the Men's A category, Ashley James in the Women's A category and Justin Evans in the Men's B category.

Appalachian's Cycling Team has had many successes throughout the collegiate cycling road season that started in February and concluded with the conference championships in Blacksburg, Va.
Other schools competing in the conference include Virginia Tech, U.S. Naval Academy, N.C. State University, University of North Carolina, University of Maryland, Wake Forest University, Duke University, University of Virginia, The College of William and Mary and Virginia Commonwealth University.

Appalachian Cycling members compete in a variety of categories based on ability ranging from D (new riders) to A (most experienced). The team had several members in the top 10 of each category for the overall competition, which is cumulative over three months and included 10 race weekends. The team with the most points after the conference championship weekend claims the championship.

"Appalachian was moved from ACCC Division 2 to Division 1 due to the success of the program and increased enrollment size," said Sean Weddell, Appalachian Cycling advisor and coach. "Prior to this season, the team captured several ACCC Division 2 titles, but winning the championship the first season in Division 1 is a huge accomplishment.

"It truly was a team effort and required a full squad competing each of the weekends."

The team's next competition is the Collegiate Road Nationals May 6-8 in Madison, Wis. Representing Appalachian Cycling will be Clayton Omer, Reid Beloni, Nick Inabinet, Andre Vandenberg and Jacob Florence for the men and Ashley James, Nina Laughlin and Rachel Vande for the women.

Facebook Fans
Home » Watauga News » ASU Cycling Team rides to victory
Local Business Marketplace

Find more businesses on

Attorneys · Automotive · Health Care
Home & Garden · Hotels & Lodging Restaurants
Retail · Recreation · Real Estate & Rentals · Services

Banner Elk My Hometown
Boone My Hometown

From Our Advertisors

  1. Bairstow Eves. Lincoln
ASU Sports