ASU Symphony performs Oct. 9

Story Submitted (

Article Published: Oct. 4, 2012 | Modified: Oct. 10, 2012

The Appalachian Symphony Orchestra will perform works by Mozart and Dvorák Oct. 9 at 8 p.m. in Rosen Concert Hall in Broyhill Music Center. Admission is free.

The Hayes School of Music’s Director of Orchestral Activities Chung Park conducts the orchestra, which begins the performance with Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola and Orchestra in E-flat Major. It features Nancy Bargerstock on violin and Eric Koontz on viola. Both are faculty members in Appalachian’s Hayes School of Music.

Bargerstock has appeared as recitalist, soloist with orchestra, and chamber musician in festivals in the U.S., Europe, Bermuda, Cyprus, Japan and Australia. For 13 years, she resided in Europe and held a principle position in the Athens State Orchestra (Greece) and toured with the Brandenburg Ensemble.

Eric Koontz has led the viola sections of the Barcelona (Spain) Symphony Orchestra and the Jerusalem (Israel) Symphony Orchestra. He has performed many chamber and symphonic concerts throughout the United States, Canada, Europe, Israel and the Far East.

The concert concludes with Dvorák’s Symphony No. 7 in D Minor, Op. 70.

Facebook Fans
Home » Music » ASU Symphony performs Oct. 9
Local Business Marketplace

Find more businesses on

Attorneys · Automotive · Health Care
Home & Garden · Hotels & Lodging Restaurants
Retail · Recreation · Real Estate & Rentals · Services

Banner Elk My Hometown
ASU Sports