'Autumn Bends the Rebel Tree'



Article Published: Apr. 28, 2011 | Modified: Sep. 7, 2011
'Autumn Bends the Rebel Tree'

Author Carolyn Guy paints a vivid portrait of Appalachian life in the 1930s and 40s in her new novel. 'Autumn Bends the Rebel Tree.' Guy will meet with the public this Sunday at the Western Watauga Community Center in Cove Creek.

Photo submitted



Stone Mountain resident Carolyn Guy tells the story of her mother, Clarinda, a strong mountain woman - widowed mother of 17 children - only as an Appalachian storyteller can.

On Sunday, May 1, from 1 to 3 p.m. at the Cove Creek Community Center, Guy will launch "Autumn Bends the Rebel Tree" in the tradition of the mountain family fun that she grew up enjoying.

Clarinda's Grandkids Band will offer Carolina country music, and good old mountain vittles are included for refreshment. The public is invited, and cloggers are welcome.

"One of the most authentic portrayals of 1930s and 1940s Appalachian mountain life I've read," said Donna Akers, author of regional historical non-fiction and "Legends, Stories and Ghostly Tales of Abingdon and Washington County," about Guy's debut novel.

"Carolyn Guy weaves a tapestry of family stories of courage, love and survival, which ring true. With rich landscape and cultural details, this novel gives the reader a true view of historical Appalachian life in northwestern North Carolina."

In "Autumn Bends the Rebel Tree," Guy uses the colorful, often amusing, mountain dialect she grew up using. The words and dialect have their roots in the Scotch-Irish dialect of those ancestors who settled the Appalachian Mountains.

In the tradition of authors like Lee Smith and Olivia Ann Burns, Guy weaves a well-written story based on fact in the tradition of literate Southern fiction. For more information about the author, visit http://www.carolynguy.com.

"Autumn Bends the Rebel Tree," published by Canterbury House Publishing, is available nationally in bookstores and online retailers as of May 1.

For more information or directions to the book launch, contact Terry Waite at (828) 297-5195. The Western Watauga Community Center is located at 1081 Old U.S. 421 in Cove Creek.

Facebook Fans
Home » Art » 'Autumn Bends the Rebel Tree'
Local Business Marketplace

Find more businesses on HighCountryMarketplace.com

Attorneys · Automotive · Health Care
Home & Garden · Hotels & Lodging Restaurants
Retail · Recreation · Real Estate & Rentals · Services

Banner Elk My Hometown
Boone My Hometown
ASU Sports